Hello there,

My first post here. Been lurking around and like the positive atmosphere.

To get straight to the point: I've read the post "Why to NOT get into modular synthesis" and I fall into Category 0 called "not having sufficient capital to sustain a build", ha ha. ;) I've studied various options and initially the best one for me (to dip my toes in) seemed to be the Behringer 104 case. However, it's less than 4 cm (1.5") deep which rules out even B. own CP1A power supply (!). The price for a recommended case of 2 x 3U high and 104 HP wide rises exponentially then. Even for a humble 104 HP setup to get started.

I'm a synth hobbyist (I don't make actual finished "music" or songs): I like to experiment. I hate DAW's and even recording DAW-less is too much hassle for me. I own a few cheap but very sweet synths that are dear to me.

However, at the moment I'm suffering, yet again, from a serious case of GAS (Gear Acquisition Syndrome) and I'm barely able to control myself from buying more synths. Most of 'm can do only one trick that the synths in my modest, small, collection can't. It's getting frustrating that I have to shelf some of 'm. But I'll never sell 'm: I'd rather die. Each one fills a certain "gap" or "need" (such as: polyphony, organ, freak machine, quick 'n dirty to setup, drum machine, sampler, choose pre-set and have fun, super portable sit on the couch, etc.).

Anyway, I'd like to finally own me a fat 24 dB/oct filter (like the one in a MiniMoog) but I'll be damned to buy a Behringer Model D only for the filter. I'd like to experiment a bit with sample and hold (The Who anyone?) but I'll be damned to buy an MS-20 or Behringer K-2 for only that (I'm almost unable to control myself concerning the K-2 though).

I'm jealous of people who can buy a small, single, module that'll expand one's setup with functionality like that. And use it in combination with other stuff without shelving one or two synths because of the lack of space in the work/hobby area.